UKBouldering.com

Wrights Rock access (Read 25148 times)

James Malloch

• forum hero
#125 Re: Wrights Rock access
May 17, 2023, 08:04:48 am
I have been bouldering for 8 years and it is the first time I hear about RAD

Out of interest, how did you check access? For nationwide coverage I'm only aware of RAD and UKC, and UKC directs you to RAD. If you google "crag access" RAD is the first result.

I’ll admit that it generally just doesn’t cross my mind to check access. I’m definitely in the camp of looking through a guide and seeing what looks interesting (or being drawn by a video on social media) and deciding to go.

Things like this make me more aware but i suspect that the majority of people are similar to me.

Sometimes I’ll check UKC to see what people have logged against a problem, which is how I’ve found out about a ban at a boulder near me ( https://www.ukclimbing.com/logbook/crags/shelter_cliff_field_boulders-21491/ ) as its super obvious on there.

But if i hadn’t checked that I would have just gone to try it.

The equivalent small “restricted access” logo on Wrights Rock is so much less prominent, and you then have to open it too if you do see it, that i don't think I’d have noticed it if I’d have done the same thing.

Signs at the crag have helped (e.g. kilnsey parking, craig-y-longridge). And if i know somewhere has a restriction i will check details before going (Chapel Head).

spidermonkey09

• forum hero
#126 Re: Wrights Rock access
May 17, 2023, 08:43:08 am
Thats very honest of you James/sirlockoff. Although to be honest I also find it pretty alarming!

I guess I really don't see it as unreasonable to expect that climbers are cognisant of access. Perhaps this is the new reality, but its a shame if so. Even looking at guidebooks to find out where to go, every single one has a paragraph on access at each crag, even if there are no issues. Shouldn't be too much to expect people to read that, and if its an old guide check it online.

James Malloch