UKBouldering.com

Rowtor Hold Erosion (Read 3700 times)

FlatlandWarrior

Rowtor Hold Erosion
April 26, 2021, 12:31:10 am
This may have already been talked about elsewhere but having gone back to Rowtor Rocks recently for the first time in a while (~1.5-2 years) I was pretty shocked to see how much erosion there was. Particularly blood falls, though I could see it just beginning to happen to a few other problems such as the lower heel hooks on Domes Low.

It gave me half a mind to try slow the erosion on a few of them, especially Domes Low where the holds are massive heel toe cams and so maintaining good friction is much less important.

I saw the thread on hold repairs but I wanted to post here first to gauge opinion first. Also to ask if anyone more experienced in such repairs would be willing to do it? As I’ve never tried before!

What do people think? (Can potentially get photos this week)

Bonjoy

• Global Moderator
  • forum hero
  • Leafy gent
#1 Re: Rowtor Hold Erosion
April 26, 2021, 08:31:25 am
Blood Falls and the prob just left of it have been eroding badly for a long time. The enormous slot on BF used to be a shallow slopey three finger drag.
Some erosion control has been tried there in the past. I applied some stuff sold as Stoneseal many years ago, paid for by the BMC as a trial, but it was fairly ineffective and I have never used it since.
I also sealed a couple of very crumbly holds with anchor resin (epoxy acrylate I think) on Domes and My Buddy the Apple. Both of these repairs have held up well.
Since then I've formed the opinion that low viscosity superglue is the best option in most cases, though I would still repair the Domes and MBtA holds with resin as these were both extremely unstable and needed a solid crust creating.