UKBouldering.com

Peak District Tick Watch (Read 31187 times)

Will Hunt

• forum hero
  • Superworm is super-long
    • Unknown Stones
#50 Re: Peak District Tick Watch
June 25, 2020, 09:54:44 am
Our cat has had a few (suburban West Yorkshire) over the years. I had one as a child after a walk in North Wales. Apparently there are certain routes in the Lakes like Totalitarian where you're guaranteed to get them.

I hate the thought of them and habitually wear long trousers for most climbing unless it's somewhere really barren (Almscliff/Kilnsey etc)

Banana finger

• addict
  • daft lad
#51 Re: Peak District Tick Watch
June 25, 2020, 10:14:29 am
I got a tick walking around froggatt last summer...bumbling around renegade master area.
So strange since I've been bushwhacking around the peak for almost 20 years and had never got a tick until then.
I was kinda under the naive impression ticks weren't an issue in the peak.

Fiend

• _
  • forum hero
  • Abominable sex magick practitioner and climbing heathen
  • Whut
#52 Re: Peak District Tick Watch
June 25, 2020, 10:32:48 am

- hopefully this is visible - zoom in to the cuff. A typical day out in the Scottish Hills. P.S. They don't seem the like compression stockings tho.

cheque

• forum hero
    • Cheque Pictures
#53 Re: Peak District Tick Watch
June 25, 2020, 10:43:54 am

mrjonathanr

• forum hero
  • Getting fatter, not fitter.
#54 Re: Peak District Tick Watch
June 25, 2020, 10:45:18 am

I hate the thought of them and habitually wear long trousers for most climbing unless it's somewhere really barren (Almscliff/Kilnsey etc)

I invested in some lighter coloured trousers instead of dark cypher pants so I could see them better.

jshaw

• addict
#55 Re: Peak District Tick Watch
June 25, 2020, 11:24:51 am