UKBouldering.com

Lockdown fingerboarding advice (Read 32380 times)

El Mocho

• forum abuser
Lockdown fingerboarding advice
April 06, 2020, 09:01:14 pm
Since lockdown started I've tried fingerboarding twice. I think I'm kinda doing the right stuff but not really sure, and to be honest figure seeing I've never done stuff like this before whatever I do (barring getting injured) should do me good.

At the moment I am using 2 edges I've screwed to my board. They are a about 16/17mm but rounded off on the edge. I screwed on 2 smaller ones but I can't hang on them.

The first session I had a go at one arm hangs but couldn't do it so I then did assisted ones pinching a rope at waist height with the other hand (just between index and thumb). I was doing repeaters, I hope correctly. With the one arm hangs did 6 on each arm, hanging for 7s, 3sec off 2 mins rest between arms but then stopped that (in a half crimp/drag)

I then did more repeaters (I think a few sets but can't remember) but this time 2 arms but in nearly full crimp (this is how I am weakest)

Then had a quick play in reducing fingers - back 3 felt pretty much as good as all 4 so didn't bother with that but did do a set on front 2 which felt much harder (think only did one set of these)

Today I thought I would try some more max hang type things. The only weight I could find was a bag of cement (25kg?)

I did the half crimp thing again. Hung for 10 sec and then 50 sec off and repeated 5 times for a set. 5 mins rest and repeated the set 2 more times. I thought it was pretty heavy when I tried walking about but hanging wasn't too bad although I don't know if I could of hung on for 20 sec or not, maybe should have tried to find max time first?

I then stopped even though I didn't feel tired or really that powered out (I felt pretty tired/powered out when doing the last couple of reps but after a couple of min off felt good)

Couple of things: