UKBouldering.com

How to Font-proof your elbows and shoulders (Read 4735 times)

Ged

• junky
How to Font-proof your elbows and shoulders
February 21, 2019, 10:43:01 am
After asking on a different thread, the knowledge seems to be to look after your elbows and shoulders for a succesful font trip.  I've got lots of experience treating golfers elbow with the hammer drill exercises, but any advice on preventative stuff would be great.

My vague plan for the next 7 weeks, alongside fingerboarding and bouldering, in terms of elbows and shoulders is:

Lots press ups, trying to progress to feet being raised higher and higher.

Some hammer drill stuff for the elbows

TRX, IYT type things

TRX press ups

Scapula pull ups and press ups

Wrist curls.

Anything else that people have found useful for; a) not getting destroyed elbows after the first day there, and b) crushing everything in sight upon arrival.

Cheers

Mike Tyson

• forum hero
The best way is to have someone ratchet strap you to your bed on rest days.

sheavi

• menacing presence

This above, and what you're already planning on doing.

tomtom

• forum hero
Diamond press ups. I find them really hard and can old do them from my knees - but work lots of bits regular pu’s don’t.

SA Chris

• forum hero
    • http://groups.msn.com/ChrisClix
Some stretching might help too. I suffer worst due to deadpointing for slopers and shockloading elbows.

I'd recommend some pastry and cheese consumption to develop some tolerance to high fat content food.

cheque

• forum hero
    • Cheque Pictures
Diamond press ups. I find them really hard

That's diamonds for you.   ;)

andy popp

• forum hero

I'd never heard of them before; very good.

Andy W

• forum abuser
    • http://andywhall.com/