the shizzle > two wheel spiel

MTB clothing recommendations

(1/6) > >>

nik at work:
UKB hive mind I have purchased a MTB (second hand santa cruz nomad) and am after some clothing suggestions. The problem I have is living on a rock in the middle of the Irish sea the only locally available outlets are set up for tax exiles with money to burn so tend to stock items at the pimp end of the scale. Also I'm a noob so don't really know what to wear/get. I want to be warm and comfy while falling of my bike on doubtless rain sodden trails, but ideally without bankrupting myself (although I appreciate this is likely inevitable in cycling...).
All suggestions advice gratefully received as ever.

SamT:
I tend to look at what chain reaction have got in clearance

nik at work:
Sounds sensible.

But I think I'm even more clueless than that... There is a lot of stuff on chain reactions website... I guess what I'm asking is what type of things would you recommend getting/see as essential?
E.g. for trad you might recommend getting a set of wires and some cams to start with, but not bother with tricams and rp's initially. I want to know what is the wires/cams and what is the tricams/rp's of the MTB world if that makes sense...

Yossarian:
I typically aim for a variation of this theme...

ChrisC:
Proper MTB shoes, 5.10 seem to own the market.  Even if riding with flat pedals make massive difference to how well your feet stick.  And shin pads (or good plasters) are a handy addition when you slip a pedal...

Gloves, both for warm fingers in winter and extra grip on the bars.