UKBouldering.com

Belay devices (Read 2300 times)

Bubba

• Global Moderator
  • forum hero
Belay devices
September 17, 2004, 11:51:22 am
Ok, I'm well out of touch with the world of ropes and all that, but if I was going to do some sport climbing with my g/f who's a complete novice to any form of ropework - ok, she's been toproped up 3 Pebble Slab but that's about it, what is the safest belay device to use?

I've only ever used fig-8 / sticht plates so what are all these new-fangled things like gri-gris, etc like?

Am I less likely to be dropped or am I better off just doing some thorough teaching using an old-skool device?

Graeme

• menacing presence
#1 Belay devices
September 17, 2004, 11:54:19 am
Go for the old school approach, I couldn't figure out how to use a gri-gri even after being shown.

dave

#2 Belay devices
September 17, 2004, 11:58:12 am
don;t use GGs unless with experiance honkie.

safest is probably  stich plate, but with a beginner they can lock up like a mofo. from day1 of climbing i've used the classic ATC (not the new one with the piss-flaps) and had no problems. modern design classic.

webbo

• forum hero
#3 Belay devices
September 17, 2004, 11:59:35 am
i would tend to go for a gri-gri it will hold if your belay bunny lets go of the rope.also its less strenuous for them to hold you in place while you dog your mega desperate project.

dave

#4 Belay devices
September 17, 2004, 12:07:39 pm
Quote from: "webbo"
i would tend to go for a gri-gri it will hold if your belay bunny lets go of the rope.

not strictly true. they shoudn't be letting go fo the rope anyway. better to teach to some to be able to belay properly with a normal device, rather than relying on a GG, which can and have reulted in people being dropped.

webbo

• forum hero
#5 Belay devices
September 17, 2004, 12:39:23 pm
i would advise basic tution with any device.however you get less rope slip with a gri-gri especially when attempting to hold the more well built climber.

Bubba