UKBouldering.com

Rocklands Advice (Read 17846 times)

cha1n

• forum hero
Rocklands Advice
January 10, 2017, 12:00:43 am
Very likely heading here at the end of June, firstly regarding flights. Direct (return) comes in at £890 from LHR and flights with a brief stop in Johannesburg (so only adding 3 hours to direct flights) comes in at £600. Would anyone with some experience doing this like to comment on if it's worth saving £290 for non-direct? They are both overnight flights.

Any other general advice, especially regarding accommodation and hire cars is gladly welcomed.

Duncan campbell

• junky
#1 Re: Rocklands Advice
January 10, 2017, 12:07:28 am
I have no experience in flying to Africa but I'd Defo save £290 for an extra three hours of travel...

cha1n

• forum hero
#2 Re: Rocklands Advice
January 10, 2017, 12:26:47 am
Yeh, that's my gut feeling but just wanted to see if it makes it all a stressful faff, plus more potential for missing bags, etc. Many of the flights with changes were between 7 and 13 hours extra, so don't fancy those but +3 seems OK. I do quite like the idea of not having to change flights and I have to spend my bonus on something after all...

monkey boy

• forum hero
#3 Re: Rocklands Advice
January 10, 2017, 07:50:19 am
We have just booked our flights and got £490 return flying with Emirates. The flights are slightly longer but much cheaper and you get a good amount of luggage, 30kgs in multiple bags. If you are taking pads then this is definitely something to be aware of as most other airlines only allow 23kgs in one bag.

Accommodation wise it depends on budget. There is camping at De Pakhuys (around 30R a night), Caravans at Alpha Farms (around 150/200R a night), houses at Travellers Rest and Alpha Farms (around 200R a night).