UKBouldering.com

U-S-A! The American Politics Thread. (Read 499891 times)

Oldmanmatt

• forum hero
  • At this rate, I probably won’t last the week.
  • Largely broken. Obsolete spares and scrap only.
    • The Boulder Bunker climbing centre
#725 Re: Trump
July 20, 2018, 12:41:29 pm
I have some experience of living in Eastern Europe and Romania in particular, but Russia itself remains a mystery to me; so whilst I recognise elements of this version of reality, I can’t say “ah ha! That’s it”:

https://www.newyorker.com/news-desk/swamp-chronicles/a-theory-of-trump-kompromat?mbid=social_facebook

TobyD

• forum hero
  • Job offers gratefully accepted
#726 Re: Trump
August 22, 2018, 08:45:18 am
It really is a travesty of justice that a sitting president cannot be criminally indited, as well as the Cohen / Manafort connection, this barely makes the news in the uk as far as I'm aware.

https://www.washingtonpost.com/news/politics/wp/2018/08/21/trump-must-face-claims-of-assault-on-mexican-protesters-judge-says/?utm_term=.8ba8c2f3c80b

Oldmanmatt

• forum hero
#727 Re: Trump
August 22, 2018, 10:56:48 am
The Teflon-Don.

He’s not going anywhere.
We keep talking about the Russian “Kompromat” on him and no one ever speculates about all his GOP supporters in the top echelons of the party and both Houses; that seem to be unable to see anything negative in the man...

moose

• forum hero
  • Lankenstein's Monster
  • el flaco lento
#728 Re: Trump
August 22, 2018, 11:04:04 am
I suspect the GOP sees the negatives in the man, but they don't care.  He gave them a tax cut and is repealing environmental protections, which keeps the party donors happy; and he has an unassailable base of voters who like racism.

andy popp

• forum hero
#729 Re: Trump
August 22, 2018, 12:23:46 pm