UKBouldering.com

multiple family skiing/boarding holiday knowledge (Read 9048 times)

lagerstarfish

• forum hero
  • Weapon Of Mass
  • "There's no cure for being a c#nt"
Following a big night out with my wife's best mates and their partners, I have been tasked with researching options for a skiing holiday next year (Feb half term)

I have already explained my thoughts about Easter being less cold for little kids

main criteria is for kids who have never skied before to have a good time - ages will be from 5 to 16

3 or 4 families, 12 to 16ish people

secondary requirement is for adults to be able to get out while kids are at ski school or being looked after by whichever of us wants a rest

I will be the only person bothered about steep off piste stuff (on a board), but to be honest am quite happy to waste my time learning to ski properly if that's what conditions and terrain dictate - the other adults just want a bit of piste cruising and drinking

I have no experience of chalet holidays - or family snow holidays

for me, easy/short travel to the slopes would be important - it'd be nice to be able to pop home at any point in the day

we'd happily cook for ourselves, but would consider catered chalets depending on cost

so, what do people do in similar circumstances? package holiday? chalet company? separate flight arrangements or package deal?

cheers

Muenchener

• Trusted Users
  • forum hero
I've never had a problem with kids being cold skiing in February, although admittedly that's Bavarian kids so accustomed to proper winters.

Otoh I have faced a mutiny on the Stubai glacier in March; we were up there because there wasn't much snow anywhere else, but it was still too cold for them. Even bought a couple of those neoprene masks, which we've never used since.