UKBouldering.com

Friction Labs Chalk Review (Read 38563 times)

tomtom

• forum hero
#75 Re: Friction Labs Chalk Review
September 07, 2015, 10:28:19 am
Those little dense beta blocks

Does Dense make them?

Whilst sat on the can watching climbing vids..

T_B

• forum hero
#76 Re: Friction Labs Chalk Review
October 27, 2015, 11:41:17 am
Update.

I've been using the Friction Labs chalk for 3 months now. In August when it was hot, I was pretty sceptical and didn't notice much if any difference compared to other chalk, but now I'm pretty convinced about the marginal gains. I've used it only on Lime and a few times on grit in decent conditions. If I was to put a percentage on it, I'd probably say 1% better than others. So not much, but enough for me to buy it again.

abarro81

• forum hero
#77 Re: Friction Labs Chalk Review
October 27, 2015, 12:29:32 pm
So not much, but enough for me to buy it again.

That was basically my conclusion too

Footwork

• forum abuser
  • Living With Wads
    • Living With Wads

andy_e

• forum hero
#80 Re: Friction Labs Chalk Review
April 02, 2016, 12:43:02 am
Interesting! EDX may not pick up drying agents such as silica gels which may not be evenly distributed throughout a sample. Best run it through XRD to be sure... although I am sceptical that friction is anything other than snake oil for the vertical generation.

AndyR

• forum hero
#81 Re: Friction Labs Chalk Review
April 02, 2016, 06:22:37 am
Interesting! EDX may not pick up drying agents such as silica gels which may not be evenly distributed throughout a sample. Best run it through XRD to be sure... although I am sceptical that friction is anything other than snake oil for the vertical generation.
How would XRD pick up silica gel?

andy_e

• forum hero
#82 Re: Friction Labs Chalk Review
April 02, 2016, 10:14:04 am
Instead of scanning a small square section in the sample like the SEM does, XRD would analyse a larger sample size wouldn't it?

petejh

• forum hero