UKBouldering.com

Could you help me out? (Read 19217 times)

Bobtheboulderer

Could you help me out?
March 12, 2015, 10:21:48 pm
Hi there! I'm posting here because I have a problem. I've been bouldering for roughly 2 years now and in the beginning I was making these incredible gains. I went from 3a to 5c in about 4-5 months. I was really happy because I made a lot of progress. But the last 7-9 months I've been stuck on the same level (6a-6b). A few weeks of no progress wouldn't frustrate me all that much as long as I would be getting better in the long run. Now 7 months have passed and I'm still at the same level and all the people who were at my level are now climbing atleast 6c's.

My weak points are balance and control. I can do most hard moves dynamically as I have (relatively) well developed lats as well as some serious abs, but I can't do them slowly and static. What happens is that I get very shaky.

My legs are also not very strong. I cannot stand up on one leg (from a sitting position). My body looks stronger and my pecs look more developed lately, but I'm not getting better.

I climb really fast, because like I told you I get very shaky otherwise. I'm 6'3 (192cm) weigh 161 pounds (73 kg) and I look lanky. I can do approx. 25 push ups in one rep. do about 45 situps in 2 mins and about 5-6 pull-ups.

I really don't know how I can get any better, I've been bouldering 3 times a week (every week) for the last 2 years. I climb for about 2 hours per session.   If you could help me out with some advice or a training schedule or some links I'd be really grateful!!   

moose

• forum hero
  • Lankenstein's Monster
  • el flaco lento
#1 Re: Could you help me out?
March 12, 2015, 10:27:48 pm
Ever tried. Ever failed. No matter. Try Again. Fail again. Fail better.

Samuel Beckett

shark

• Administrator
  • forum hero
  • insect overlord #1
#2 Re: Could you help me out?
March 12, 2015, 10:50:24 pm