UKBouldering.com

Work: is it personal? (Read 10888 times)

Nibile

• forum hero
  • Part Animal Part Machine
    • TOTOLORE
Work: is it personal?
February 12, 2015, 05:15:25 pm
And if it is, is this a bad thing?
Getting back seriously into law practice, I found out that in the civil suits that I follow, things tend to get personal, in the sense that beyond the will to apply correctly the law, to win the case for the client, to reaffirm and compensate a broken right, I always feel the presence of the other lawyer(s) - as persons - behind the procedural aspect.
I want to prove that I am better than they are, I am a better lawyer and I know more than they do.
When things get down to annoying stuff, like especially appeals, or when I get the idea that they are trying to sidetrack the case, or to mislead the judge, I get really really angry. I don't want anymore to just win the case, I want to crush the other lawyers into oblivion, I'd like to make them cry in Court.
I am terrified by the idea that they could win by playing dirty, and I can't comprehend how some judges are so easy-going and superficial.
I realize that this can lead to a very high level of stress, but I can't help it.
What do you think?
How do you live your jobs?
Do they get on a personal level?

tomtom

• forum hero
#1 Re: Work: is it personal?
February 12, 2015, 05:25:02 pm
It's a tough one Lore - we are all human so it's impossible to think like a logical machine all the time and not be taken away with emotions and personalities.

But - when I have tough situations to deal with I try and think Dutch. I have the fortune of collaborating with a range of scientists from the NL and they have not problem with pointing out the obvious - or what is right or wrong - with a direct and largely impersonal manner.