UKBouldering.com

Problems stabilised or in need of it (Read 9388 times)

tomtom

• forum hero
drill and glue a couple of pins then use whatever repair concrete/filler is compatible with soft sandstone

I'm not a doctor or a stone conservator etc.

Was wondering whether the face to be filled would need any stabilising/firming up or if its a case of just cleaning it off etc...

dave

Dunno if anyone from the north east reads this, but the very first foothold on the slab start bit of Northern Soul at Hepburn has worn through the patina to the softer pale rock, and could do with some TLC. Be a shame for this problem to go the way of most of the classics at bowden etc.

Eddies

• forum hero
#27 Problems stabilised or in need of it
June 06, 2016, 08:49:22 pm
Your gate gudgeon has corroded and expanded, causing the stone to shatter (oxide jacking). The only way to fix it long term is the remove all corrosion and re-protect it before resin fixing the stone back on... If you simply fix the stone back it won't last long.

tomtom

• forum hero
Thanks Eddies. That (unfortunately) sounds like quite a lot of grief... There is no bit that fell off - unfortunately. I guess resin coating would need to be done all the way around the pin - otherwise it'll just squeeze it out anyway...

Eddies

• forum hero
You can buy a 'rust converter' which is applied to the corroded metalwork using a brush and converts the rust into a protective barrier!
I've never used the stuff but for a job that small its worth a shot.

tomtom

• forum hero
You can buy a 'rust converter' which is applied to the corroded metalwork using a brush and converts the rust into a protective barrier!
I've never used the stuff but for a job that small its worth a shot.