UKBouldering.com

Stamina / work capacity for sport climbing? (Read 4676 times)

Muenchener

• Trusted Users
  • forum hero
I'm relatively new to proper sport climbing in the sense of deliberately trying things I don't expect to onsight. I'm enjoying myself, and having some successes, but I seem to be able to get alarmingly little done in a day. I can manage two or three warm-up routes, a maximum of four or five goes on things anywhere near my limit, and that's pretty much it for the day (no matter how many recovery cakes I eat at Oma Eichler's). And when I get out for a full weekend, I'm still very much feeling the effects of Saturday on Sunday.

I'm mostly climbing in the Frankenjura, so we're talking powered out (ancap?) more than burning lactate pump if that's relevant.

Should I change my tactics: project Saturday, mileage Sunday? Is there some training I could do to improve matters? Or should I just accept that this is normal, relax and enjoy the cakes?

Davo

• obsessive maniac
Sounds pretty normal for me

chris j

• forum abuser
That's pretty good going by my standards. One my current project (the Lynch at Ansteys) I can manage 2 warm ups and then three meaningful goes before I start fading fast. But that is pushing a long way above my normal grades and has improved from when I started when I generally got 2 1/2 goes and then had to ask a mate to get the clips back as I was utterly wiped out...

After a day on that I'm normally still feeling it two or three days after and there would be no prospect of doing anything on the next day.

SA Chris

• forum hero
    • http://groups.msn.com/ChrisClix
Yup, although what little projecting I've done I've only warmed up doing a route i know once on lead and once on toprope before redpoint blasts. But that was when I was young and fit, not sure what I would need to do now.

Stu Littlefair

• forum hero
    • http://www.darkpeakimages.co.uk