UKBouldering.com

BMC / Tom Greenall. The future of climbing coaching (Read 1852 times)

shark

• Administrator
  • forum hero
  • insect overlord #1
https://www.thebmc.co.uk/the-future-of-climbing-coaching

Sports coaches have existed in many sports for eons, but not in climbing. This is rapidly changing as a new wave of passionate and talented climbers are equipping themselves with the skills required to coach climbing effectively. We spoke to GB Junior Bouldering Team manager Tom Greenall to find out what these developments mean for the future of climbing in the UK.

Why do you love climbing over any other sport?

I love climbing because it is a truly multi-faceted sport. There are so many aspects and variables to work on that there is always something new to try.  I have been climbing for nearly 18 years and I have always enjoyed the way in which I have been able to switch focus and explore new aspects and disciplines. It simply never gets boring. Coupled with this is the great social and community aspect. Climbing is one of the few sports that seems to totally transcend gender, age, ethnicity and ability. It’s incredibly inclusive and in many ways is more of a lifestyle sport. Possibly similar to sports like surfing it is addictive!

How long have you been working full time as a climbing coach?

I have been coaching climbing full time for the past two years and part time before that for a further four. Since graduating from university I pursued other career pathways within sport and coaching before finally deciding to turn towards climbing coaching specifically. I am now lucky enough to work doing what I truly enjoy the most, coaching a huge spectrum of groups and clients as well as balancing this along with development work for Mountain Training and the BMC in coach education.

Mountain Training recently launched the climbing Coaching Scheme, how has it been received so far?