UKBouldering.com

7a+ indoors, 4 outdoors!? (Read 9350 times)

rodma

• forum hero
#25 Re: 7a+ indoors, 4 outdoors!?
July 17, 2013, 10:31:56 am
Does anyone else have any ideas for practicing mantles in an indoor environment?

Dips....

:agree:

PLus, of you train at TCA, you can do a sort of lying down mantle exercise on the rings, with them set about a foot and a half off the floor. get one of the staff to show you.

SA Chris

• forum hero
    • http://groups.msn.com/ChrisClix
#26 Re: 7a+ indoors, 4 outdoors!?
July 17, 2013, 10:37:25 am
Sit under dining room table, then pull onto it. Make sure it's sturdy. otherwise any low wall will do.

Ti_pin_man

• obsessive maniac
  • sometimes you see things & curse, damnit no gun
#27 Re: 7a+ indoors, 4 outdoors!?
July 17, 2013, 10:41:04 am

I'm no expert but that sounds like you're quite strong physically but as others have said, technique and feet sound like the weakness. 

Well I suppose I am physically strong in the sense that I can chuck my sub-9-stone self around pretty damn well

Ahhh strength to weight ratio, the climbers friend.   ;D

Zen

#28 Re: 7a+ indoors, 4 outdoors!?
July 17, 2013, 10:55:49 am

if you train at TCA, you can do a sort of lying down mantle exercise on the rings, with them set about a foot and a half off the floor. get one of the staff to show you.

Ah, I'm assuming you'd be lying with your feet to one side and pulling up onto the rings and then pushing down past them until you're extended?

Sit under dining room table, then pull onto it. Make sure it's sturdy. otherwise any low wall will do.

I have the most flimsy dining room table on earth haha, the low wall might be something I could manage though

cheque

• forum hero
    • Cheque Pictures
#29 Re: 7a+ indoors, 4 outdoors!?
July 17, 2013, 12:15:57 pm
I find successful technique for mantels relies on aiming to go upward rather than forward.