UKBouldering.com

Font - Complete beginner (Read 3875 times)

jono475

Font - Complete beginner
April 06, 2013, 10:41:17 pm
So I'm based in Paris for a bit and somehow got this idea to take up bouldering at Fontainebleau. Only thing is I've never done climbing of any kind, not even indoors. Is it possible to pick it up at a reasonable pace by just going there and doing stuff on your own?

On the couple of times I've been so far, I looked for yellow routes on some rocks not too far from the train station (Rocher Canon and some other place I can't remember the name of). Some of these I managed on, others were just too damned hard or dangerous looking without a spotter. I also spent a lot of time just looking for the yellow markings and ended up wandering around the areas a lot, getting distracted from the task at hand.

Can anyone recommend:

a.) The best area in Font with lots of easy routes for complete beginners, preferably within 3 miles or so of a train station (already intending to check out Trois Pignons, but it will be a pain to get to so I'd like to have some other options).

b.) The best guidebook to tell you where the routes are/how to tackle them, again something with a heavy slant towards beginners.

Baldy

• obsessive maniac
  • Low Bawler
    • CBclimbing
#1 Re: Font - Complete beginner
April 07, 2013, 12:48:03 am
This is a glorious first post!

If you are entirely new to the whole sport, then I would recommend buying a cheap pair of climbing shoes (decathlon is a good bet)
As for a guide - http://www.jingowobbly.com/fom/fom-main.html is probably a bit outdated, but I doubt you will be missing anything too major at the low grades.
There should be a fair few hanging around in shops and online.
As another large source of information, you can go on http://bleau.info/circuits/] [url]http://bleau.info/circuits/ [/url]