UKBouldering.com

Superimposing a climber's centre of gravity in a video sequence (Read 2469 times)

petejh

• forum hero
I'm trying to find a way to superimpose a climber's centre of gravity plus a framework connecting hand and footholds in a video sequence, so I that I can analyse balance and movement on a route or boulder problem. I'm pretty handy with Illustrator/Indesign and Photoshop but I'm a complete newbie with Premier Pro. Anybody know a simple way to do this?

I've tried messing around with this: http://www.vpfundamentals.com/    Ideally I'd like to create something similar to the video sequences on the Self-Coached Climber dvd but for personal movement analysis, albeit of a geeky nature.

Might also post this on the training forum.

tomtom

• forum hero
ooh... tricky!
Putting my physics cap on - you could make the very broad assumption that the CoG is in the centre of the torso.. you could then have a link between wrist and shoulder, and hip and ankle - then represent the torso with a link between the two - then have the CoG as the centre of that torso link...
Very crude - but might work..

A more sophisticated way would be to account for the weight of the limbs and head as well as the torso..

petejh

• forum hero