UKBouldering.com

Dodgy A4 pulley/DIP joint vs Font - advice (Read 3702 times)

Nigel

• forum hero
Dodgy A4 pulley/DIP joint vs Font - advice
February 28, 2012, 03:00:18 pm
Alright chaps, so last Tuesday (one week ago) I was doing circuits at The Foundry, fairly crimpy. Then I did some crimpy bouldering, then some crimpy deadhanging. You get the idea. I suffered absolutely no pain or wierd sensations during the session or later that evening. I woke up next day and my top knuckle (DIP joint) was swollen, very tender to touch, and couldn't make a fist. I've never had one before but it sounds like an A4 pulley injury, although to be honest the pain is concentrated more on one side of the finger, on the line of the actual knuckle itself, rather than the section between knuckles.  First question - could it be anything else other than A4? Some kind of joint injury? I have no experience of this so thoughts are welcome. No pain when forcing finger sideways so maybe not collateral ligaments although like I say thoughts welcome.

Part II - I am going to Font on Saturday. I've rested since injury, iced, ibuprofen etc. Flexibility now normal although slightly sore at DIP joint when in a fist. The whole past week it has felt fine to "test" open hand and half crimp the edge of a table, very slight wierd sensation to full crimp. However soreness is worst with direct pressure to knuckle i.e. grabbing a jug. Question is, can I tape this injury effectively - how do you tape A4? Current plan is to tape finger so that crimping is impossible, then buddy tape to another. Does the soreness from direct pressure cause damage or not? Is it OK to pull hard open hand, or should I treat it as an easy circuits rehab week. Again, thoughts welcome. Cheers.  8)

SOH