UKBouldering.com

Portable training aids (Read 2690 times)

weakdave

• forum abuser
  • Technically lacking
Portable training aids
September 12, 2011, 03:43:20 am
I work away from home for 4/5 weeks ata time so I need something to train with while I am away. I have a gripmaster which is ok but I was thinking of either rock rings or the metolious wooden power grip things. Anybody used either of these or suggestion something better?

ashleyscott

#1 Re: Portable training aids
September 12, 2011, 05:45:59 am
Go get yourself a set of rock rings, they cover most training holds.

Fultonius

• forum hero
  • Was strong but crap, now weaker but better.
    • Photos
#2 Re: Portable training aids
September 12, 2011, 09:04:18 am
Go get yourself a set of rock rings, they cover most training holds.

While rock rings do provide some training options, if you have the time/inclination and the space to carry it, you'd be much better off making something out of a piece of ply and some wooden rungs. The rock rings are just plain unpleasant to train on.

slackline

• forum hero
    • Sheffield Boulder
#3 Re: Portable training aids
September 12, 2011, 09:12:53 am
You could perhaps make enquiries about the portable beasmaker mentioned here.

JamesD

• obsessive maniac
  • one ton monkey
#4 Re: Portable training aids
October 17, 2011, 12:04:10 am
These look pretty cool too:

http://www.hotgym.co.uk/

Been contemplating buying one for a year, I think when we move in January I can convince the missus to let me get one finally :p

I figure you can hang rock rings off of it too, I use mine now and again (rock rings), they're ok not as good as a fingerboard but definitely better than nothing also these things are pretty cool:

trxfitness.co.uk