UKBouldering.com

Freeride/ DH Rigs (Read 2735 times)

chriss

• obsessive maniac
Freeride/ DH Rigs
July 08, 2011, 03:31:40 pm
I'm after a freeride/ DH bike, but not sure what to go for. I currently ride a Stupjumper FRS, which is getting thrashed on the trials & want to keep it for XC only.

I weigh under 10 stone so don't want anything too heavy. Also I won't be using it every week, so don't want to spend a fortune & as I'm no pro having 5k's worth of kit would be a waste.

Any suggestions would be great. Ps If anyone knows of anything for sale get in touch as I'm looking at second hand bikes too.

Cheers.

gingerninja

• menacing presence
#1 Re: Freeride/ DH Rigs
July 08, 2011, 07:27:36 pm
what sort of things will you be using it for? there are loads of good bike out there but some are better for full on dh where as some are more freeride eg jumping and single track. ive had a few stinkys and they have been good. currently on a vp free and its really good but a bit heavy. i tend to use my 2008 trek remedy for most things, it can handle most stuff i throw at it and im a big bloke.

chriss

• obsessive maniac
#2 Re: Freeride/ DH Rigs
July 09, 2011, 11:14:53 am
Ok so I suppose I'm looking for a Freeride bike rather than a full on DH machine.

Will be used on man made trials, Aston Hills is my 'local' spot, twisty single track, jumps, berms, roots- nothing too hairy. Would get out to Morzine too.

Trek has been mentioned to me already, but looks like the bike I already own, correct me if I'm wrong thou. Have looked at the Konas also Specialized Big hit. Ebay seems to have a few bit's at the mo.

gingerninja

• menacing presence
#3 Re: Freeride/ DH Rigs
July 09, 2011, 01:14:12 pm