UKBouldering.com

regrets, I've had a few... (Read 3059 times)

tommytwotone

• forum hero
  • Southern jessie turned Almscliff devotee
regrets, I've had a few...
March 01, 2004, 11:48:24 am
I had a sudden realisation that I've been climbing for 8 years now, certainly doesn't feel like it.

I'm assuming everyone's seen the Channel 4 thing on at the mo where various peeps are saying what they'd do if they could start their life over again, so....

...if you could start your climbing life over, what would you do differently?

For me, I wish I'd moved to Sheffield rather than staying in Derby...oh, and not waited till i was 24 to get serious about training and getting focused!

Bubba

• Global Moderator
  • forum hero
#1 regrets, I've had a few...
March 01, 2004, 11:58:56 am
- I would have pioneered modern training techniques before they had been invented  :wink:
- I would have built a woodie 5 years earlier.
- I would have given up trying to be a bold trad climber and just bouldered without feeling guilty about it much earlier on.
- I'd have spent a few seasons in Font.
- I wouldn't have taken an 8 year layoff to take pills and go dancing !!! Don't regret it as such, but I sort of wish I could have carried on with doing other things as well, instead of getting totally sucked into that scene.

dave

#2 regrets, I've had a few...
March 01, 2004, 12:26:08 pm
  • done more routes
  • been less of a fag when i was on routes
  • done loads of VSs instead of pushing soft E2s and then now maybe i'd be able to jam properly
  • eaten more brocolli
  • not fallen off that thing at font at done me ankle
  • not worn ronhills
  • not bought those snap pants
  • bought more than 1 pair of those S7 pants when they were cheap in the Outside marquee.

billy

• regular
#3 regrets, I've had a few...
March 01, 2004, 12:47:57 pm
not got a job and gone climbing instead!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

dobbin

• Global Moderator
  • forum hero
  • Buoux 7a
#4 regrets, I've had a few...