the shizzle > the blog pile

Black Hole Sun......

<< < (2/48) > >>

chris05:
Thanks for posting it. I wouldn't have guessed you were an engineer!

Found your writing compelling and emotive.

Chris

Will Hunt:
If it's helping then keep doing it. The perversity of finding a subject like this enjoyable to read is surely testament to your skill as a writer.

Oldmanmatt:
CairnGorm.....
I boulder, now. A little obsessively, perhaps.
 It’s not as if bouldering is exactly safe (some of the worst injuries I’ve seen, in thirty odd years of climbing, have happened on boulders).
I’ve been climbing since I was eight years old. I don’t know why. If I did, maybe, I wouldn’t have to.

I climb.

It’s a sunny, January, afternoon. We’ve arrived early. The car park at CairnGorm is full, conditions are perfect (forecast for a dump overnight) and surely, surely, we can squeeze one in.....

We should have known better.....

“The Runnel (Grade 2)”, should be a doddle. We set off. Fast, young... stupid.

There’s another pair already on the route, about a pitch up (it seems there isn’t a single gulley free of Gore-Tex, right now). Mug of coffee from the flask, take our time gearing up. Let them get a pitch or two ahead....

We’re climbing; it’s easy going; just steep snow. The crux is on the last pitch, short, sweet. We alternate the lead and we’ll worry about who gets the crux later. Flip a coin.

“BELOW!”

I hunker into the scoop and put my head down. Ice comes clattering past; I wait a few seconds then emerge again. The weather is turning, the sky no longer blue but white, the light flat.

I’m on belay, Mike is leading, the pitch before the crux. I can’t see him and he hasn’t moved since the Ice came past. I shout but there’s no reply, no sound at all, the air is dead here in the gulley.

Then I get the signal, tugged through the rope, he’s on belay.