UKBouldering.com

Over exposed hands? (Read 4914 times)

Robl

• addict
  • A bit of an animal
Over exposed hands?
March 31, 2011, 03:26:42 pm
Afternoon

Recently got a Nikon D3100 with the stock 18-55 lens, and have been out snapping away. Sometimes on auto sometimes on sport, sometimes manually setting. What I have noticed on mine (and other peoples)  pics is chalked up hands are over exposed.?

I am a novice when it comes to anything camera based, can anyone offer any advice?

Here are a couple of examples?

Manual Setting - f3.5, Exp 1/60 - It was probably 6:30pm on an overcast evening. I'm happy with the realism of the colours, the green is right on my top for example but the back of mu hands / arms are almost glowing? (maybe a tan would help? :smart:)

This was in the cameras sport mode. f5.6 exp 1/125 - again colours good but over exposed hand.? Late morning - overcast day.

Thanks all.  :bow:

butterworthtom

• stalker
    • Incoherent Rambling's of a Lakes Boulderer
#1 Re: Over exposed hands?
March 31, 2011, 03:43:16 pm
I am certainly an amateur, but in my (limited) experience I would suggest that both those pictures are slightly overexposed. I would dial down the exposure compensation by 0.3 - 1.0.
If you think that the subject is the climber and the line, looking at that first image the chalked up holds, the hands, and the skin on his arms are blown out. The surrounding rock is well exposed, but is that what you want?
There is more detail in under exposed areas than over exposed ones, hence it is easier to correct underexposed images than vice versa.
If you have situations with a wide dynamic range, then try and think about which part of it you want to be able to see clearly, either that or get your HDR out  :sick:

Anyway, I'm sure Paul or someone will be along to correct me soon.

butterworthtom

• stalker
#2 Re: Over exposed hands?
March 31, 2011, 03:52:28 pm
I am going to plug a photo I took the other day as an example: