UKBouldering.com

Is this normal.... (Read 4253 times)

lincoln.3

Is this normal....
March 17, 2011, 11:36:59 am
I've been climbing for 6 months but concentrating on bouldering for the past 4 months to build up strength. I've changed my diet to a generally more healthy one (not eating crap in front of the TV at night) and been building up my general fitness as well (running/stretching etc).

I'm climbing V5's at the moment but seem to have one good climbing session every four. The other times I feel as if I have no strength and everything is a struggle.  :wall:

Is this normal???  :-\

I understand that some session's will be better than others.

I'm getting a regular 7 hours sleep each night but can only climb once maybe twice a week at the most due to family commitments etc.

Jim

• Trusted Users
  • forum hero
  • Mostly Injured
  • Pregnant Horse
    • Bouldering POI's for tomtom
#1 Re: Is this normal....
March 17, 2011, 11:41:26 am
try having a week off and just chilling out

erm, sam

• forum hero
#2 Re: Is this normal....
March 17, 2011, 12:33:54 pm
Are you having too many sessions in a row? Are you eating properly before a climbing session? Are your good sessions based around problems suiting your strengths and your bad sessions based around problems suiting your weaknesses?
After only 6 months climbing you should not be getting too precious about getting up a particluar grade or what not. If you are not having a good session then why not have an easy one and focus on movement or trying different techniques rather than rather than pushing too hard when it isn't working.
So, it might be normal, it depends on lots of perameters. But there will be lots of things you can do to effect it, and don't expect your improvement at climbing to be linear.

ducko

• junky
#3 Re: Is this normal....
March 17, 2011, 12:42:19 pm