UKBouldering.com

Macbook upgrade help (Read 2925 times)

JamieG

• forum hero
Macbook upgrade help
March 11, 2011, 02:51:32 pm
Sorry in advance, i'm not that good with technical jargon.

I wanted to upgrade the hard drive of my macbook. It is the unibody aluminium one, but not a macbook pro. Here is the wiki page with it on, if you scroll down a bit.

I looked on a few forums about macs and they said any SATA 2.5" hard drive would do. So i went to Amazon and bought this one. Then i noticed it said SATA II. I have no idea what this means or if i have made a mistake. Does anyone know if it will still work? If not it will be straight back to Amazon.

Thanks very much for any help. Waddage will be awarded regardless of wether you have good or bad news to tell me.  ;D

slackline

• forum hero
    • Sheffield Boulder
#1 Re: Macbook upgrade help
March 11, 2011, 03:06:50 pm
Not clear from the product specification on Wikipedia what the motherboard is and whether its SATA I/II/III.

How old is it?

SATA II started increasing in prevalence last year..

One option might be to open the MacBook up and look at the HD thats in there and see if its labelled as SATA II or not.  If it is then you're good to go.

A quick but of  :google: suggests that the MacBook is 1.5Gb/s (i.e. SATA I) but that you might be able to get it to work regardless by using a couple of jumper pins.

You could probably get some detailed information on the hardware thats in there by doing the following (because under all the bells and whistles of OSX, Macs these days are essentially running *NIX as they are derived from BSD).

Fire up a terminal and use either the command 'lspci -vv' or 'lshw' to get detailed output on the hardware components in your computer (although its possible that one or neither of the commands are installed by default, lshw in particular, but lspci should be installed).

JamieG

• forum hero
#2 Re: Macbook upgrade help
March 11, 2011, 03:30:00 pm