UKBouldering.com

Somerset/Bristol area (Read 3175 times)

GazM

• forum abuser
    • Highland ramblings
Somerset/Bristol area
December 29, 2010, 12:16:33 pm
Go easy, I'm a newbie round here.

I'm staying with the old folks over the festive period and hoping to get out for a finger stretch between enormous helpings of cold turkey and xmas pudding.  Where do the locals go for perma-dry bouldering (besides the climbing acadamy)?

I'm from the Highlands and despite the weather always being pish there's normally somewhere perma-dry for the keen.

Cheers in advance,

Gaz

SA Chris

• forum hero
    • http://groups.msn.com/ChrisClix
#1 Re: Somerset/Bristol area
December 29, 2010, 12:48:07 pm
Nothing springs to mind as being permadry. only thing I can think of as a possibility is Gollum's Cave above Avon Gorge. Downside of it though is that it's shit.

duncan

• Global Moderator
  • forum hero
#2 Re: Somerset/Bristol area
December 29, 2010, 03:02:45 pm
Brizzle is not great for bouldering.  What there is is outlined here.

In Somerset there is some half-decent bouldering underneath the Weston-Sand Point toll road, on Sand Point itself (I've not checked this out) and at Bread Down.  These are all quick drying areas not prone to seeping.

simes

• stalker
    • http://www.simes303.pwp.blueyonder.co.uk/index.htm
#3 Re: Somerset/Bristol area
December 29, 2010, 03:06:21 pm
Brean Down.

GazM

• forum abuser
    • Highland ramblings
#4 Re: Somerset/Bristol area
December 29, 2010, 07:54:23 pm
Cheers folks,

I'd assumed Brean would be the best shout.  Took a stroll out there yeterday and it was drenched from top to bottom - some weired humidity from the rapid change in temps I think.  Oh well, maybe tomorrow...

Three Nine

• forum hero
#5 Re: Somerset/Bristol area
December 29, 2010, 08:29:58 pm