UKBouldering.com

Incredibly inflexible, help please? (Read 6477 times)

mikejones

Incredibly inflexible, help please?
December 16, 2010, 01:33:22 pm
I've been climbing for around 3 years now, I'm mostly into my bouldering. At the moment I'm in uni in London and get to the wall 2 or 3 times a week. The other day I took two non-climbers to the climbing wall, both of which turned out to have a much higher level of flexibility than me (bit depressing), confirming the fact that I have incredibly low levels of flexibility  :(
I also lack alot of strength when raising my leg into a high foot/ high heel hook position.

I've been trying the exercises recommended on the beastmaker website which have had a positive affect but don't do anything for my lack of strength.

Could anyone please recommend a series of exercises and stretches and length of time the stretches should be held and amount of times a week it should be done. Any feedback would be greatly appreciated!
Cheers,
Mike.

slackline

• forum hero
    • Sheffield Boulder
#1 Re: Incredibly inflexible, help please?
December 16, 2010, 01:36:23 pm
Yoga (also useful for core)?

mikejones

#2 Re: Incredibly inflexible, help please?
December 16, 2010, 01:44:25 pm
I was thinking of going to yoga in the new year but was wondering if there are some purely climbing specific exercises / stretches that can be done?

iain_cbr

• addict
  • Weak lanky wannabe
    • A Ponderer's Ramblings
#3 Re: Incredibly inflexible, help please?
December 16, 2010, 02:00:07 pm
I have a similar problem, my hanstring muscles at the back of my thighs are really underused and tight. This means that I don't bend much and I struggle to lift myslef when heel hooking (is that what you meant?) I'm seeing a physio about a few other issues and she recommended just doing hamstring stretches.