Poll

What is your main motivation for bouldering

Its fun and cool - end of
12 (26.7%)
To climb the hardest moves I can
16 (35.6%)
Its a pretext to eat patisserie in Font
2 (4.4%)
Because I'm good at it (and have no stamina)
4 (8.9%)
I like climbing and its less faff than chuffing (and I'm scared of heights)
7 (15.6%)
Because my mates do it
0 (0%)
Its good and fun training for roped climbing
4 (8.9%)

Total Members Voted: 44

straw poll (Read 6545 times)

AliJ

straw poll
July 14, 2010, 08:51:10 pm
My first post and just wondering if there's an average boulderer. I'm not talking about ability, but temperament.
I've been climbing routes and bouldering for about five years, often irregularly, at most 2/3 times a week. These days I mainly boulder and just once a week (Have 6month old baby) and I love it.
I get as much enjoyment from an easy circuit as I do from working a problem. I only climb in the low to mid 6's probably at least in part because I can't be arsed working a problem for hours on end.
The point of bouldering is so often seen as difficulty, ever since John Gill started the ball rolling.
But how many boulderers are actually that serious? Someone lighter/stronger/more talented than me might climb a 7b with the effort it takes me to get up a 6b.
I suspect most people, dare I say it, boulder for fun and the training/diet obsessed are a small minority.
Am I completely off the mark?

Andy B

• forum hero
  • fishie in a dishie
#1 Re: straw poll
July 14, 2010, 09:43:04 pm
I don't boulder for fun. I boulder for power.

slackline

• forum hero
    • Sheffield Boulder
#2 Re: straw poll
July 14, 2010, 10:30:25 pm
Bouldering is just training for "proper" climbing!  :P

Drew

• forum hero
  • Am I really a
#3 Re: straw poll
July 14, 2010, 10:32:33 pm
I boulder when I'm tired of watching the telly.

robertostallioni

• forum hero
#4 Re: straw poll
July 14, 2010, 10:35:18 pm
This isn't a proper poll.

This is a proper Poll

Paul B

• forum hero
#5 Re: straw poll