UKBouldering.com

Finger worry - I'm new to this shit, be gentle. (Read 8169 times)

dave

Background - week away in val di mello bouldering. Warm and sunny, plenty of beer in the evenings. Climbing Ok. Until now never really had anything i'd call a finger injury in 13 years of climbing.

Final day of the trip last saturday, 7th day on in one form or another. Limited time so we get on a superb looking 7c+ in the village. Pretty big holds all round, warm up by doing some of the easy moves a few times, deadhanging etc, gradually building up to a few moves at a time. All seemed to be well. Sack it off when we have to leave for the airport.

Then some time afterwards, probably later that day, I notice something feeling not totally right. Left hand, middle finger feels a little bit sore.

Been trying to work out what is up this week, not climbed. Symptoms:

Slight ache if I tense up and move the finger. (scratch that, I have that on all fingers...)
No restriction to movement, everything OK there.
No swelling.
No pain or discomfort when deadhanging openhanded.
No pain in a half-crimped/flat grip although if i think hard enough I can feel something.
Mild-to-middling ache when crimping deadhanging (or simulating that grip on a table, other hand etc), mainly just as I let go. Seems to be somewhere around the first joint (one nearest to the fingertip) but its hard to place cos its a dull thing not a sharp pain. No pain in wrist/palm/otherfingers etc.
Placing the hand flat face down and trying to make a fist against the table gives no discomfort, all OK.

So thats it. Basically don't know where to start cos I never get injured, and most of the advice i've casually read on the web over the years seems to be pretty contradictory and generally non-specific. Icing good, icing bad? Taping good, taping bad? etc etc Any help would be appreciated.