UKBouldering.com

How to get strong on a really crap campus board? (Read 3463 times)

i_a_coops

• forum abuser
    • Ian Cooper
So I found out that I have free access to a campus board, and it's conveniently a couple of miles away so I can run there and get fit. Unfortunately, I then went and found out that's it's not really a campus board as we know it, it's about 4 feet from bottom to top with the rungs very close together (I can quite happily do 1-7-match, the double handed dyno to the top of the board will probably happen next time.... there goes of real 1-4-7 by the end of the summer!).

So my question is, is it worth doing lots of touches (a la moonblog) with varying numbers of fingers? I'm trying to work on my lats, and my back 3 strength, as these seem to be my weak areas atm. I've been climbing for about 4 years and am trying to break into 7C (I'm allowed to dream, Three Nine. Also I'm climbing lots and am much, much better at technical stuff than brute strength).

And if not touches, is there anything else worth doing on this mini board?

Also I did a lot of sets today (1-5-6-5-6 etc.) keeping going until failure, is this the best way to go about it or should I do set numbers? My forearms got a quite pumped at the time but a few hours later I can't even tell I've been using them!

Thanks,
Ian

Nibile

• forum hero
  • Part Animal Part Machine
    • TOTOLORE
campusing on back three seems pretty dangerous to me, i'd skip that and keep doing touches with some added weight (up to 10%), or doing plyometrics, even double handed.
probably on such a short board you will get better gains on power endurance than pure power.

i_a_coops

• forum abuser
    • Ian Cooper
Trouble is, I campus completely open handed so it's quite hard getting all four fingers on! Back three open handed didn't feel tweaky at all.