UKBouldering.com

Suggest me some wheels! (Read 13893 times)

Snoops

• obsessive maniac
Suggest me some wheels!
March 08, 2010, 08:32:22 pm
Want to upgrade my giant scr roadbike, and figured getting rid of the heavyish IOU 333 factory wheels would be the best start.

I'm a hill man riding in the Peaks, so my research tells me aero not so important, lightness is the main factor.

Anyone suggest some reasonable quality light wheels and tyres that would suit?. I've not got loads to spend so ZIP 414's are out!!
I'm thinking 200-400 quid, preferably something on offer!

Thanks

Palomides

• forum abuser
#1 Re: Suggest me some wheels!
March 09, 2010, 08:46:35 am
I am no expert by a long way. I too have a pair of heavy OEM wheels on my road bike, and I'm currently trying to convince myself that the wear indicator is still deep enough to do another summer...

Anyway, from extensive research on forums, the usual suspects are

PlanetX model B - currently £99, loads of people think they're great (but I suspect that most of them are heeeavy bifters without much experience)

Shimano Ultegra 6700 - good offers on these at the moment (chainreaction, merlin cycles and "Absolute Bikes" on ebay), I quite like the look of them as they have a steel freehub body so will take an older 8 or 9 speed cassette no probs, are quite light and I'm tempted to try out Tubeless...

Shimano RS80 - cheaper version of dura-ace 7850 C24s, all-round carbon clinchers, light and some people think they're great (I suspect that these people are a bit more knowledgeable than the MobelB fans)

Fulcrum 5s or 3s - look good, good reputation, noisy freewheel.

Mavic  Ksyriums  - archetypal factory wheels, lots of strong love/hate opinions around.

Other options are handbuilts - this is a whole world I know nothing about, but I've seen good things said about http://www.wheelsmith.co.uk/ and http://www.roadacecomponents.co.uk/.