UKBouldering.com

La Sportiva shoes......are they worth it? (Read 16071 times)

JamesD

• obsessive maniac
  • one ton monkey
La Sportiva shoes......are they worth it?
March 08, 2010, 02:36:04 pm
DISCLAIMER: I am a novice climber, I don't know everything, however.....

I am curious as to how they justify their exceptionally high prices?
I went for Scarpa shoes myself, they use the same rubber (vibram shizzle), seem to be of fantastic build quality, and because essentially they fitted well.
I haven't tried Five Ten or Evolv yet, but they seem to be at a similar price point to Scarpa.
It just seems that an equivalent shoe from la-sportiva seems to be £20-30 more expensive than everyone else throughout the range, and I can't see anything that make them stand out as significantly superior, same rubber, same apparent build quality (although i've heard of quality control issues with katana's and solutions wearing out after a few months?!), and yet they are nearly 30% more expensive.
Fancy colour schemes aside, assuming both fitted you perfectly, what would you buy...a Scarpa booster, or Lasportiva Solution, and why would you make whichever choice you make.

Paul B

• forum hero
If they fit I'd go 5.10 every time rather than either of those brands; I am strongly of the belief that the rubber is far superior. Currently the whites are my favourite shoes, I'm just amazed at how versatile they are across different styles and rock type.

At the end of the day it justs boils down to fit and personal preference. I was amazed when a freind told me how much Red Chilli shoes go for, I couldn't see why on earth people would buy them in preference to 5.10's etc. For down-toed shoes the solutions are meant to be quite impressive, whether or not they're worth the money is another thing all together.

Lund

• obsessive maniac