UKBouldering.com

weakest link in the chain... agghh (Read 3478 times)

route149

• addict
  • 'Let's see how Ben does it...'
weakest link in the chain... agghh
March 23, 2009, 12:37:41 pm
Okay, some serious fingerboarding, I can now use the holds on an indoor V10, but of course that don't make me a V10 boulderer.

I guess what I'm doing is 'threshold' bouldering - two to three moves at a time, so it's solidly 4 V grades above my grade.  I understand the theory and I'm kind of following the self-taught climber.

Q is, if I can crimp those crimps (and I can) but can't do all the moves, am I better off cranking up my core power to match now, before getting any stronger in the fingers?  Or is it better for me to get my locks sorted (close to l1 arm 45 degree lock but v slow progress)

cheers guyse

benpritch

• forum abuser
#1 Re: weakest link in the chain... agghh
March 23, 2009, 01:01:03 pm
sounds like the fingers are strong enough but other stuff needs working on like your core, legs and arms.

this will improve gradually if you continue to boulder but could be accelerated by training one armers, campusing, front levers and clean and jerks?

all i do is boulder these days but i used to notice significant gains from one armers (assisted or otherwise) over a five day block day 1 - 5 sets of 5. day 2 - 5 sets of 1 max and climb, day 3 - 5 sets of 5, day four 5 x 1 and climb, day 5 - 5 x 5.

this is quite a tiring regime and 4 - 5 weeks should see your arms transformed or if you aren't careful ie totally warmed up and strong enough to perform the excercise well and in control,  totally hosed. be especially careful when coming down to a straight arm. also concentrate on getting into as deep a lock as possible , ie get your head and opposite shoulder above the bar/board.

mix this with some front lever training http://www.beastskills.com/FrontLever.htm