UKBouldering.com

Heel? Heal! (Read 9734 times)

andy_e

• forum hero
Heel? Heal!
January 29, 2009, 11:35:19 am
My right heel is playing up for some reason. It feels like I've smacked it on something, but there's no bruise, and I've had it for a few weeks now.it's the top of my heel, where all my pairs of shoes end- could this be something to do with it? It hurts when I drive (i.e. the heel is touching the back of the shoe on the accelerator) and also when I first put my climbing shoes on, and, as of today, it has begun to hurt when I sit in lectures too.

Anyone had anything similar? Help much appreciated.

matthew

• menacing presence
#1 Re: Heel? Heal!
January 29, 2009, 11:43:24 am
I know that feeling. I'm no doctor but ...;)... could be Achilles Peritendinitis but then it might not be. That was what my heel pain was diagnosed as.
http://www.runnersworld.co.uk/news/article.asp?UAN=225
http://www.runnersworld.co.uk/news/article.asp?UAN=231

The Sausage

• forum abuser
#2 Re: Heel? Heal!
January 29, 2009, 11:46:39 am
Could easily be... is the tendon swollen compared with the other side? does it feel like there's friction when you move your ankle?

dave

#3 Re: Heel? Heal!
January 29, 2009, 11:50:03 am
when my cellar board was new and I didn't have many mats down i dropped off and smacked the back of my heel bone on the stone floor. it fucking killed for a while, bruised, was tolerable in trainers but really hurt in most rockshoes, and it swelled up so i couldn't get any of my normal rockshoes on without morphine, i remember we went to wales and I had to dig out an old baggy mocasym slipper to wear on one foot. after a couple of weeks it was OK again though.

Scouse D

• forum hero
#4 Re: Heel? Heal!
January 29, 2009, 12:04:25 pm
Also could be plantar fasciitis. I've had plenty of this. Feels more sore when you first get up and weight it.
Mine usually resolves itself but try changing the shoes you wear for a while, might help.