UKBouldering.com

New member saying hi... (Read 9201 times)

gremlin

• stalker
  • Ripped, but still shit!
    • Java shit
New member saying hi...
December 04, 2009, 08:46:45 pm
Hi,

just joined the forum and thought I would say hi.
I'm a novice boulderer @ 4 months and have been bouldering indoors at Manchester and Preston and outdoors at Brownstones.

Anyone got any tips for building good technique and stength? Also, how can I stop my hands from getting shredded to bits (they seem to take ages to heal and then they just crack).

Ta.

Will Hunt

• forum hero
  • Superworm is super-long
    • Unknown Stones
#1 Re: New member saying hi...
December 04, 2009, 09:12:16 pm
 :wave:

When you start out the best way to get better is to go climbing more! Honest, just make sure you're enjoying it and you'll get much better, especially if you're climbing with people a touch more experienced than you and if you're doing it lots.
Skin gets tougher the more you use it. I've heard that ClimbOn cream is good to use. Also been told that Vitamin E is good to rub into thinning skin to encourage growth.

magpie

• Trusted Users
  • forum hero
#2 Re: New member saying hi...
December 04, 2009, 09:15:39 pm
Hello!

Will is right, climb lots, with people who are a bit better than you, watch how they do problems and get up stuff, and for your hands try Climb On or Lotil at night, it's really good for dry and sore skin.

Jaspersharpe

• forum hero
  • 1B punter
  • Allez Oleeeve!
#3 Re: New member saying hi...
December 04, 2009, 09:21:53 pm
While I was writing this Will and Maggers have already said the same thing but it's worth repeating!........