UKBouldering.com

Ondra in Israel (Read 5457 times)

andy popp

• forum hero
Ondra in Israel
December 05, 2017, 05:33:21 pm
Ondra is copping quite a bit of flak on instagram for his recent trip to Israel: https://www.instagram.com/p/BcSovILleeL/?taken-by=adam.ondra (while there he did a 9a FA and flashed 8c+).

Should he have gone? As an academic, and especially as a journal editor, I face similar questions, albeit on a smaller scale, as there is a long standing call for an academic boycott of Israel. In fact, I have published work by one Israeli author and have not received any backlash. I don't believe in stifling academic debate. But would I go to Israel on a government sponsored lecture tour? Adam's trip was apparently sponsored by the Israeli tourist board. His mistake, in my view, has been to gloss over that in his instagram and then to attempt to portray the trip as completely apolitical. Given the context, that is an impossible claim and one that looks naive or ill-advised. In another bad move he even called the 9a "Climb Free," something that is impossible for Palestinian climbers. If he was going to accept the sponsorship he should, in my view, have insisted on also meeting and climbing with the Palestinian climbing community. That such a request would probably have been denied kind of proves its the importance of making it. I'm not going to start thinking he is evil incarnate, but I think he's made a mistake, at the very least in terms of how the trip has been framed and handled. Views? 

Nigel

• forum hero
#1 Re: Ondra in Israel
December 05, 2017, 05:56:15 pm
As you say, there's a difference between going on holiday and being brought over by the tourist board as a PR job. How do you know it was the latter? Instagram info is pretty slim, is there something elsewhere spelling this out?

andy popp

• forum hero
#2 Re: Ondra in Israel
December 05, 2017, 07:12:05 pm