UKBouldering.com

UKB Power Club Week 377 15th - 21st May 2017 (Read 8145 times)

tomtom

• forum hero
Hola!

A week of watching the forecast and hoping to get out...

M: CragX on the way over to 'ull. It was raining quite heavily - and with some drying the crag was 'serviceable' but far from good.. Had to dry the holds every few min as they were condensing out... no cigars..

T: Work

W: Mixed forecast - had been raining - and the peak looked wet.. so decided to head to Ousels Nest... I've been once before and didnt really get on with it - it all seems hard gently overhanging wall climbing. Its more like lime than grit in many ways, crimps edges and strong pulls. Which is why I'm not very good at it.. Had fun on a 7A called Zendik - that had a vital but damp crimp... which improved after cleaning/use but not enough by the time I tired and left..

Th: Lovely weather... but I'd been out the day before. Managed to do some Yoga at home for the first time in ages.

Fr: Back to Ousels Nest. Got Zendik 3rd go (yeeha!), then spent ages working the SS to Alison's route (7A) after managing the French start 6B, and Stand (6C+) but it knackered me so I left. Had a good play on meeting palms (I think?) a 7C arete for the normally sized, and probably less for me... sounds perfect...

Sa: MrsTT had friends over - social stuff - babys - cafe's walks etc...

Su: I went back to CragX. MUCH better conditions on Zippys. I warmed up - did overlapping halves. Sweet. Had a rest. Got on the problem, moving well, strong, direct, fast, smooth... got through the 'crux' and went to throw left and realised I'd left the ladder up (from brushing the holds) and it was blocking my way!! No way through, had to stop. How stupid of me!! This really threw me - I felt so so good on that go, that on the next three I powered out, slipped off, phsyched myself off it. After a stiff talking to, 20 min rest and a bit of a walk - I just got on it with none of the usual faff routine and did it - just.

the_dom