UKBouldering.com

moon grips, anyone used them? (Read 6659 times)

Andy W

• forum abuser
    • http://andywhall.com/
moon grips, anyone used them?
September 15, 2016, 09:26:03 am
Hi, as its says really...moon grips, anyone used them?

I've got some of the white moon holds and they are not great but ok. I setting up a new board and thought these moongrips seemed quite good value and could supplement what I allready have. Also has anyone any experience of the crusher holds?

cheers

webbo

• forum hero
#1 Re: moon grips, anyone used them?
September 15, 2016, 09:45:27 am
I've got some of the Crusher crimps 15mm and 20mm. I have a 40 degree board and found the 15s to be a bit small for me, so they've ended up on the short vertical bit at the top of my board. The 20s are fine, the textures good.

b3n99

• stalker
#2 Re: moon grips, anyone used them?
September 15, 2016, 11:40:12 am
I think most of the moon holds are total rubbish, the two newer sets especially. The original set is better but still pretty brutal on the fingers (small and very positive in the most part). Recently put a selection of the LX holds on my local board and they are superb, as good as the beastmaker holds in my opinion. They don't have any in stock currently but the long pinches are amazing! Here's a link: http://www.lxgrips.com/holds/mixed-sets

ducko

• junky
#3 Re: moon grips, anyone used them?
September 15, 2016, 11:49:47 am
http://stonesmithholds.com/product/malcs-board-holds/

apparently these are good, ive not tried them but may order some for my board

dave

#4 Re: moon grips, anyone used them?
September 15, 2016, 12:09:48 pm
By "moon grips" are we talking these type?

http://www.moonclimbing.com/gear/climbing-holds/power-grips-set-a.html

These are the old sets, been around now for years. I had some on my old woody two houses ago, and there's load of em in the schoolroom. They are in my opinion very good holds. Like a thousand times better than the current moonboard ones.

jakk

• regular