UKBouldering.com

Mixing climbing with martial arts etc (Read 7762 times)

heelhookofglory

• menacing presence
    • SPC
Mixing climbing with martial arts etc
December 03, 2015, 11:36:18 am
I've been training Brazilian Jiu Jitsu for the last 6 months and I'm really enjoying it. It seems that it's good for all-round fitness, core, grip strength and mental discipline. BJJ is one of those activities, similar to climbing, where you really need to be doing it 3 or 4 times a week to see good progress IMO. Personally, I find that doing any less leads to me forgetting what I'm learning and I just don't seem to perform as well when rolling (sparring).

The downside is that it's meaning that I don't have much energy left for bouldering and my climbing is lacking a bit since starting BJJ, well a lot actually. BJJ training is hard and it leaves me pretty drained. For example training BJJ 3 times a week and then bouldering 3 times a week is too much for me and I end up too tired to concentrate on work etc., so I'm currently not climbing much at all and I'm lucky if I get more than 1 session in.

I know it comes down to what my personal goals are really and if my martial arts goals are more important than climbing but I'd still be interested in seeing how others mix it up. I'm reading quite a bit about the benefits of being more of a generalist, in terms of training, rather that being too specific. I'm never going to be world-class in any sports that I do as that's just not important to me. What is important is personal development in all areas, experiencing life and enjoying what I do so maybe I'm doing the right thing by mixing it up and switching it about each week.

Anyone else successfully mix other sports/activities with climbing? How do you balance it out and see steady progress in all areas?

Muenchener

• Trusted Users
  • forum hero
#1 Re: Mixing climbing with martial arts etc
December 03, 2015, 11:56:23 am