UKBouldering.com

Replicas (Read 4415 times)

Luke Owens

• forum hero
    • My Blog
Replicas
November 04, 2015, 08:46:30 am
I've heard quite a few people say what helped them do a problem or route was setting a replica on a board.

I thought I'd give this a try and set 2 replicas of the crux of 2 routes I'm trying at the moment at my local wall.

Is the goal to make it harder than the actual sequence and climb it? I managed to climb one of the replicas I made last night; so is it then best to use smaller hand holds or smaller foot holds next time? Or just keep it as true to the actual route as possible and keep repeating it until it's easy?

Anyone tried this approach much? Had much success on routes or boulders after doing this sort of thing?

Cheers

36chambers

• forum hero
#1 Re: Replicas
November 04, 2015, 09:53:26 am
I have no experience of using replicas, other than making up sequences at the wall for problems I'm training for.

But for a crux on a route, it may be worthwhile to get it dialled and then start trying it whilst pumped. I can also see no harm it tweaking it a little every now and then, and making it harder than the actual problem.

I would love to be able to get replicas of all my projects. Let us know how it all pans out. 

Monolith

• forum hero
  • Straight outta Cronton.
#2 Re: Replicas
November 04, 2015, 10:27:37 am
I measured some critical dims on the Pill Box problem and made a (too steep) replica on the Hangar 50 degree board. I figured since I could comfortably hold the position on the stand up with my feet flush to the kicker, it might not be a million miles away to eventually get my feet on. An idle bit of fun really.

Richie Crouch used to set a lot of replica moves/problems when we worked at Awesome Walls. Seems to have helped him over the years.

andy_e

• forum hero
#3 Re: Replicas
November 04, 2015, 10:46:04 am
That's the Mills we all know and love, not this fell-jogging loon!

Nibile

• forum hero
  • Part Animal Part Machine