UKBouldering.com

A2 injury? (Read 2762 times)

J.Kydd

• player
A2 injury?
February 10, 2015, 12:15:16 pm
Hi chaps,

I'm still very new to the whole world of climbing to please bear with me.
I think I've injured the A2 in my left middle finger, but would like a bit of confirmation from those who know what it actually feels like.

From what I've read, you normally feel it happen, regardless of whether it's a full rupture or a strain - but there was never a 'moment' when it suddenly hurt or tweaked.
If I press/probe the area it's pretty tender, especially so at the front, but also around to the right side of the finger (when looking at the palm). Around to the right, the pain is lesser, but there is what feels like crunchy tissue.

Something that is a little strange though is that first thing in the morning my finger is extremely stiff and painful to move under its own power. After a few minutes of being out bed and moving around that stiffness completely subsides

I've read that A2 pully injury's are most common with long term climbers where the fingers have been subject to a lot of hard crimping - but I've only be climbing regularly for maybe 6 months and am currently climbing at around 6B.

Could it be inflammation in the joint, or does this sound very much like a tendon issue? Is there anyway I could get it confirmed by a doctor? Can they scan it to check?

I've been taping the finger when climbing and half-ignoring the problem (typical "it'll be nothing" hope), but after 2 days on trot at the weekend it was pretty tender yesterday and I don't really want to do anything major

Any advice, experiences or telling off much welcome
Cheers, Josh

tomtom

• forum hero
#1 Re: A2 injury?
February 10, 2015, 12:27:58 pm
OK - when mine have gone I have felt nothing. I've heard it (like someone snapping a biro) but not felt it - it just starts to feel a bit numb and slightly odd in the minutes after...

Feeling stiff then easing off over the day sounds about right too....