UKBouldering.com

Injuries on weaker hand (Read 3535 times)

cha1n

• forum hero
Injuries on weaker hand
November 18, 2014, 11:41:31 am
Do people find they get injured more on their weaker hand?

I'm right handed and my left hand has always felt a bit weak compared to my right. The fingers even look and feel slightly thinner with less soft tissue on them.

I've been logging my injuries since 2011 and I've had 11 A2 injuries in my left hand (mainly ring finger) and only two injuries on my right hand.

I've started adding notes along with injury details and I'm almost always pulling on crimps when tired and dehydrated, I've usually also been a little ill around the time of injury.  I hope this time I learn from my mistakes.

Muenchener

• Trusted Users
  • forum hero
#1 Re: Injuries on weaker hand
November 18, 2014, 12:01:36 pm
I haven't noticed a particular left-right imbalance, but I do wonder why it's nearly always the ring finger

cha1n

• forum hero
#2 Re: Injuries on weaker hand
November 18, 2014, 12:31:11 pm
Personally, I think I rotate my wrist so that the pinky side of my hand is rotated into the wall more than the thumb side. Not sure if that makes sense but the result is that I load the back three more.

Could account for why the ring gets injured more but doesn't explain why the pinky escapes without injury!

lagerstarfish

• forum hero
  • Weapon Of Mass
  • "There's no cure for being a c#nt"
#3 Re: Injuries on weaker hand
November 18, 2014, 12:52:09 pm
I figured it some sort of voodoo shit that the wife was doing to make sure I remember that I'm not a free agent

Paul B

• forum hero
#4 Re: Injuries on weaker hand
November 18, 2014, 01:01:12 pm
Wow, thats a fair few A2s. Have you had any other tweaks or are you lumping everything in under A2?

I seem to remember you had quite a while climbing in Font; any injuries during this time?

Any split between training injuries and climbing injuries?