UKBouldering.com

Bouldering wall in school (Read 4942 times)

Gee_dude

Bouldering wall in school
July 22, 2004, 10:58:52 am
What do u guys think about me trying to get a bouldering wall @ my school, i haven't put it to my teachers yet but i just wanted to know if u thought it was a good idea or not?!

Bubba

• Global Moderator
  • forum hero
#1 Bouldering wall in school
July 22, 2004, 11:09:50 am
It'll depend on:

- how much demand would there be
- how much would it cost to build
- does the school have space
- liability issues
- etc

But it can't hurt to ask them.....

Gee_dude

#2 Bouldering wall in school
July 22, 2004, 01:21:22 pm
We were thinking that we could sort of form a club, with the supervision of a teacher that is really into climbing.

still we will give it a try, i was just wondering if there was anywhere that this has been done before?

Mr K

#3 Bouldering wall in school
July 23, 2004, 10:50:23 am
I am a teacher and I would love to do this at my school - however there are a number of health and safety documents that need to be considered. You just can't do this sort of thing anymore without filling in forms, having legal advise, architectural surveys, etc, etc... :shock:

I'm hoping to set up a club next year and there are future plans to build a wall but in partnership with the local council run sports centre so they can absorb some of the cost and responsibility - responsibility is the catch you see, there maybe a keen climbing teacher but are they willing to take respoinsibility for something they could possibly lose their job over and they don't get paid for the extra risk!! :o

Don't want to sound all doom and gloom but this is why outdoor education is slipping in most schools. One restiction I find hard to cope with is a bouldering hieght limit 1.5m for the feet - how many boulders do you know that are any good under 1.5m? :?: If you ignore the rules you pay with your life :twisted:

AndyR

• forum hero
#4 Bouldering wall in school