UKBouldering.com

Sleeping: how? (Read 8441 times)

Muenchener

• Trusted Users
  • forum hero
Sleeping: how?
October 14, 2014, 06:36:12 am
I've been tracking my hours slept per night for a few months now, because one reads all over the place that eight hours per night is a minimum for adequate recovery if one is trying to train seriously. My average is 7.4, and tbh I'm struggling to see how anybody with a job and kids manages to hit the magic number.

My average is actually higher because I have August in there which was school holidays. Otherwise it would be worse; on school days we have to be up at six in order to get M jnr fed, brushed and out of the door in time for his bus. He goes to bed around 9:30, so if I wanted to get eight hours sleep I would have half exactly half an hour in the evening for non-child-related activities. Minus toothbrushing time.

Weekends don't offer that much opportunity for lie-ins either if I want to go climbing. I live an hour or two's drive from any worthwhile crags, so that also means getting up at the latest around seven o'clock. Oh well, M jnr will be hitting puberty soon and then at least there will be unlimited lie-ins on non-climbing weekends.

Nibile

• forum hero
  • Part Animal Part Machine
    • TOTOLORE
#1 Re: Sleeping: how?
October 14, 2014, 07:30:21 am
When I had to commute, I had to wake up at six as well. In order to get enough sleep - I need plenty to feel good, surely more than average - I had basically built my life around it. So after dinner I was in bed at around 21:30, sleeping like a baby by 22. No matter what.
It was still shit though, no social life, nothing. Plus, I used to wake up very early on Saturdays as well, but often after going out on Friday night, so, little sleep again.
Can you take a power nap at some point?

Mike Tyson

• forum hero
#2 Re: Sleeping: how?
October 14, 2014, 08:02:14 am