UKBouldering.com

Separating training phases? (Read 4821 times)

Kemics

Separating training phases?
August 21, 2014, 04:32:30 pm
This is my first time...be gentle with me  :)

So it seems most training plans do two separate phases for strength and endurance. Is it possible to do both at the same time? Or do you see better gains if you focus on them purely. I was reading the Ukb science list of articles, specifically one my McClure about feet on campusing for power endurance. Is it worth tagging this on as an exercise to a bouldering session. Or should I reserve it for a strictly power endurance session so not to interfere with strength recruitment?

Also: For finger strength, do repeaters develop strength or PE? Going by specificity would you not want max hang and then a long rest instead of short rest periods for strength?

Basically ive plateaued pretty hard so decided to try some more structured training. However, the more books and articles I read the more confused I get!

would really appreciate some advice

Thanks! 

Sasquatch

• forum hero
  • www.akclimber.com
    • AkClimber
#1 Re: Separating training phases?
August 21, 2014, 07:19:05 pm
So it seems most training plans do two separate phases for strength and endurance. Is it possible to do both at the same time? Or do you see better gains if you focus on them purely. I was reading the Ukb science list of articles, specifically one my McClure about feet on campusing for power endurance. Is it worth tagging this on as an exercise to a bouldering session. Or should I reserve it for a strictly power endurance session so not to interfere with strength recruitment?
Read this linked document: 
I finally got around to uploading a document I wrote on this stuff:
https://drive.google.com/file/d/0B-40C59n2E_4aVRyYjY5U1Rtc2c/edit?usp=sharing should take you to a downloadable pdf. Hope some people find it interesting/useful!
Then read it 2-3 more times to fully get it.  ;D   It should help quite a bit.