UKBouldering.com

training with knee injury (Read 2559 times)

lukas_s

training with knee injury
August 12, 2014, 12:04:46 pm
hey.
a couple of weeks ago i hurt my knee and got the diagnosis of an torn menisci. So instead of spending the summer in a long climbling trip through europe, i had to get surgery.

So instead of getting fat i thought i might as well make the best out of it and train hard. As i have little experience with training without actuall climbing im looking for advise.
My current thought is to take two weeks off (done that already) to recover, and i wasn't feeling to good anyway after the surgery.
Then 4 Weeks of
- 4xFingerboard repeaters (is this to much? i have only used a fb as an addition to climbing up to now)
- Core Excersises (Front lever progresseion, leg raises, sit ups, puch ups, some ring workouts)
- Pull up training for one armer
- some gym work and antagonist training

Then switch the fingerboarding to assisted one arm max. hangs (chris webb parson style) but only 2x/week
and hopefully be able to do some climbing by then (toperoping/traversing to rebuild endurance) and some campussing depending how the knee develops.

So what do you think about that plan?
Should i try to do some foot on campusing/fingerboarding in the first 4 Weeks?
or any other advise what to best do with my training time until i can climb again is very welcome.

Thanks in advance
Lukas

Nibile

• forum hero
  • Part Animal Part Machine
    • TOTOLORE
#1 Re: training with knee injury
August 12, 2014, 02:32:24 pm
Broken meniscus here as well, still have to get surgery.
Anyway, I wouldn't stress too much about planning over a long period. The risk here is to get an overuse injury.
Don't think about weeks/cycles, go with your flow. Think long term. Do something every other day not too far from the lever you were at before surgery. Don't stress about getting too strong too soon, especially if you used to mostly climb.