UKBouldering.com

Lord of the Board (Read 9905 times)

Rocksteady

• forum abuser
  • Crank
  • Hotter than the sun!
Lord of the Board
November 20, 2013, 02:48:59 pm
So I've decided my bouldering training sessions have been way too focused around problems that are currently within my limit - i.e. I can work them within one-three sessions.

I want to try out proper high intensity, low volume training using a board. But I've never done it before. It feels weird trying problems where I can only just pull on or barely do one move. It sort of feels improbable that I will improve doing this stuff. But I'm pretty motivated by the idea that 6 weeks down the line I might be able to do multiple moves off stuff I can only just hold right now.

At the moment I've sort of got a few mini-projects - one where I can do the problem in 3 links, one where I can do a few moves, and a couple where I can only do one move or just pull on.

Can anyone give me any tips on how they structure a max intensity board session? How many problems, how many tries, how much rest between goes?

Cheers!

Doylo

• forum hero
#1 Re: Lord of the Board
November 20, 2013, 03:00:36 pm
I like to mix it up a bit and do 6ish of the usual problems increasing in difficulty before getting stuck into something I can't quite do the moves on (gets you proper warmed up too).It's good to have a couple of these like you say. One where you can only hang the positions and one where you can do the moves but can't quite link it. Sounds like you've got a plan. I probably spend 40 minutes on the max problems, I don't think you need much rest if you're literally just pulling one or two moves.

krymson

• obsessive maniac
#2 Re: Lord of the Board
November 20, 2013, 03:30:53 pm
My experience has been