UKBouldering.com

Klimb Training Software (Read 16595 times)

Serpico

• forum hero
    • The Craig Y Longridge Wiki
Klimb Training Software
April 14, 2011, 04:58:16 pm
This software was originally developed by Dmitry Kalashnikov as part of his computer sciences degree to make a little money. I was one of the early users, and found it useful, but quite limited with a few bugs and quirks. After a couple of years Dmitry stopped supporting the software and released it as a free download along with the source code. I taught my self the absolute basics of Java and began to tinker with it. It should be noted that I’m not a programmer, all the fixes and modifications I’ve made have been the results of hours of copy and paste and trial and error.
Installation instructions.
Download the original – it shouldn’t appear as a zip file, if it does it’s possible you don’t have Java installed on your machine. If you definitely have the latest version of  Java installed you may have to rename the file extension to .jar. Click install and this should take you through the install process, however Klimb doesn’t create shortcuts so you’ll have to go to your C:/program files/klimb and create a shortcut to the file klimb.jar, paste this onto your desktop etc.

KlimbV2
If you want to try my ‘upgrade’ (ha!) download it and paste into the same folder and follow the above procedure for creating a shortcut. If you don’t like it you can always just run the other version.
This version works with existing users data. I can’t remember all the changes/fixes I’ve made in this version because that’s the sort of detail a real programmer would record, but it includes:
Date bug – clicking on 6/4/2000 would take you to 4/6/2000
Added a Timeline, wanted to add a calendar but had no idea how.
Added Font and British tech grades, with varying degrees of accuracy.
Extended the life of the program
Cosmetic layout changes